top of page

Q&A - Francesco Patera

Following on from his razor thin decision loss to Sean "Masher" Dodd, we were lucky enough to speak to lightweight contender Francesco Patera to add a bit of a European flavour to our Q&A feature. He was kind enough to give his thoughts on his most recent contest as well as his route into the sport and who he views as "the man" in the 135lb division.

British Boxing Blog - How did you discover boxing?

Francesco Patera - I discovered boxing at an early age my brother was a boxer so I followed him in to it. I was 7 years old when I started.

BBB - Who are your boxing idols?

FP - My biggest idol is Floyd Mayweather, he just does amazing stuff in the ring. I like to watch smart fighters and try to learn some tricks from them. Other fighters I like are Crawford, Rigondeaux and Naseem Hamed.

BBB - Your route is a little unconventional, coming from Italy but now boxing out of Belgium. How did that happen?

FP - My parents are both from Italy but I have spent all my life in Belgium. However, I am very proud to be Italian and I feel honoured to represent Italy.

BBB - In your last bout you lost a very close decision against Sean Dodd, how did you see the fight? Would you like a rematch?

FP - Yes it was a tough fight. I watched the fight on Youtube after and I think I could of have gotten the decision but I’m not going to complain about it was a good fight, I really would like a rematch. I think the fans would like to see that fight again too.

BBB - Your only other defeat was to Yvan Mendy, who also beat Luke Campbell, how good is he?

FP - Yvan Mendy is a world class fighter, it was 12 rounds at a high pace fighting. He always keeps coming and he does it in a smart way too, trying to counter and get you to the ropes so he can throw combinations. He was the toughest fight of my career.

BBB - How did you find boxing in the UK for the first time? Would you come back?

FP - I really liked the U.K. I was treated well and the people were nice. The atmosphere was great you can see the people love boxing in the U.K and support their fighters 100%. I would love to come back and fight in the U.K.

BBB - You are only 23 years old, what are your aims for the future? How far can you go in the sport?

FP – Yes, I’m still young, I have high ambitions in the sport and I’m working hard for it. My dream is to fight for a world title and win it if I get the chance.

BBB - Who do you think is the best Lightweight in the world currently?

FP - The fighter I like the most in the lightweight division right now is Linares I think he can beat anyone. There is also Mikey Garcia coming to the lightweights now he could be big.

BBB - According to Boxrec.com, you are scheduled to box in Belgium in February, is that correct?

FP - Yes I will be fighting in February for the WBC Mediterranean title, but the opponent is not yet known.

BBB - Finally, do you have a message for your fans?

FP – The message to my fans is just thanks for supporting me. I always try to give action in the ring for you guys and it gives me strength knowing you’re rooting for me!

Grazie mille a Francesco per rispondere alle nostre domande!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page