top of page

British Boxing Blog speaks to Steve Wraith

Having started this website late in 2015, we often feel as though the world of professional boxing never stops. And when it does, it’s not for long. This article is written in the midst of seven consecutive weekends of attending boxing shows in one format or another. Then you meet someone like Steve Wraith and find out how busy he is.

We were lucky enough to cover his recent Collision Course event at the Lancastrian Suite in Dunston. Our review of the show is online here. Last week I spoke to arguably the busiest man on the North East boxing scene on a range of subjects.

On Collision Course:

“I’m happy [with the dinner show format]. I think from my perspective with dinner shows it’s the way forward for me because I’m looking to do something different to the other promoters. Phil [Jeffries} is well established in the area and Fighting Chance are doing their first show [at time of talking]. Obviously there are a lot professional boxers in the North East which is a plus point from a quantity point of view. I just think if I do something different I will attract a different crowd as well as the regular boxing crowd”

On different venues in the region:

The Lancastrian Suite has been a place for me to put on events over the past 20 years. As many people know, I’m a Newcastle fan and I just wanted a change. I’ve been trying to get into St James’ Park for years and have now managed to do it. I think I’m ready to take it to the next level on the local show circuit.

I love the O2 Academy as a venue, the problem is that it doesn’t help itself with the backstage area. It’s ideal for bands. The boxing board have been kind enough to let me stage boxing shows in venues which probably aren’t suited for boxing. Riverside Lodge being another example where we had to fight to get it on there. That said the more shows in the North East the better. Not just for the boxers but for the officials and the boxing board. It gives us more chance to be recognised as a boxing hotbed.

On bringing boxing to St James’ Park:

I’ve criticised and praised Newcastle in equal quantities over the last 24 years as a fanzine editor and someone who put his head above the parapet. Over the last 2 years however I’ve made a conscious effort to leave that alone and not be critical and leave that to others. I’ve kept my opinions to myself as ultimately I wanted to get back in with the club and get events on there.

Luckily this year that has happened. Sadly, Pavel Srnicek’s death has probably brought me closer to the club, a lot quicker and my relationship with the club was enhanced emotionally. Getting that communication was important. There have also been a lot of people who have put in a good word for me which has helped. I’ve exchanged emails with [Chief Executive] Lee Charnley and he’s pleased I’m on board and I’m happy to be on board.

I’ll make sure that I make a big success of it. I have the facilities now, to give boxing fans a real treat. The boxing shows will take place in the Bamburgh Suite to start with but the ambition will be to, one day, do what Phil [Jeffries] does at the Stadium of Light and do it pitchside. That’s obviously a long way off but I think for the boxers it’s a great opportunity. Also from a sponsor’s point of view. It’s a great opportunity for them to access certain parts of the stadium. I know it will appeal to football fans and boxers. I’ve already had boxers on social media asking me to get them fighting on the show. And it’s just been able to say “at St James’ Park”.

On finding the time to promote boxing shows as well as other events:

It’s my job! When you’re self-employed you have to be able to juggle a lot of plates. It’s the way I like it. I like to keep busy. When I’ve got nothing to do and a lot of time to think, anyone can suffer from bouts of depression. Not that I’ve ever had any serious bouts of depression but if I have 2 weeks not doing anything I’m climbing the walls! My events are continuous. From my perspective I’m trying to push the boundaries and get my events bigger and better. I think essentially its getting the quality of events right.

On successfully getting Tyson Fury to the region:

When Tyson Fury won the Heavyweight titles I, like everyone else, was watching it going I’ve got to bring him up here. Fortunately, with the contacts I’ve got I was able to pick up the phone and sort it within 6 months.

On the future of prospect Paul Gidney:

He’s very talented. Anyone who Mal Gates takes on is going to be a good prospect. Thinking back to early days as a promoter, I loved David Lake. He was a Mal Gates fighter. They all come forward and Gidney is no different! Think back to the way Lee Mould came back against Craig Dixon and Gidney has got that ability in him. It’s hard in those early fights finding your feet in the pro game. I’ve never boxed but it’s a step up from amateur or white collar. Many fighters, even in my short time as a promoter, have been found out but Gidney took the bull by the horns in Morpeth [on his debut] and then last week just carried it on. He’s a grafter and has the same work ethic as Nella [Commonwealth and English Super-Flyweight champion Anthony Nelson], Mould and Tom Whitfield.

On his relationship with the aforementioned Mal Gates:

There’s been lots of ups and downs in my boxing career so far and I’m sure there’ll be more. But Mal Gates has been the shining light for me. The guy’s my best friend in boxing. He is somebody that I trust implicitly. If we don’t have any more highs we will always have that high we had at the Temple Park Leisure Centre. Where we had just short of 1500 people cheering “Nella” on to victory and then standing in the ring at Newcastle Arena where “Nella” had the Commonwealth belt around his waist was great. Two great days I’ve had with Mal Gates.

Massive thanks to Steve for speaking to us and allowing us fantastic access to his show. We keep saying that the future is bright for boxing in the North East, soon the rest of the country will find out just how bright!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page